TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

We are living in a technologically- dependent world and smartphones is a part of the modern society. In this world of globalization and modernization, there is no shortage of debate whether it is better for young children to have phone or not. Some parents believe that it is a good idea to give young generation mobile phones. However, I believe that smartphones should not be handed to young people. I will try to examine below the specific reasons for my viewpoint.

To begin with, with smartphones and Internet, kids can have access to wide range of things: good and bad. Young children are like sponges, they learn very quickly whatever they see and hear. Today, with the Internet-enabled phone we reach to the Websites which are not actually meant for children, and accidentally kids open the browser not particular for their age. Even though it’s a great way to communicate with kids when they are away, but it also brings many disadvantages like watching porn sites which are not suitable for kids. My nephew, who just started high school has a smartphone, and he feels extremely proud of it. However, while giving the phone my cousins never thought of the negative consequences. Both my brother and sister-in-law have a full-time job, they thought to give a smartphone to my niece will keep their mind at ease, as they can talk to him whenever they want. 6 months later, one day they were looking at the browsing history and found out that he watches porn sites at this tender age. As a result of this indulgence, they were very regretful about their decision.

Moreover, I believe smartphones causes a huge distraction for school-going kids. Students go to schools for studies, but with smartphones, they spent most of their time on social-networking sites like Facebook and Instagram. Not only this, recently I was reading the article in a major newspaper, where it was mentioned that recent study shows that kids who start using phones at an early age become introvert as they don’t communicate with anyone in the class. They keep themselves busy on the phone. While in past, when kids did not have phones, they were more interactive and outgoing as compare to today’s generation. I have witnessed this drawback in my nephew. When I visit my cousin's place, my nephew is always busy playing games on the phone or watching videos rather than talking. According to me, this is a significant downside of using mobiles at an early age. This is the time when kids should talk about various things, should discuss their likes and dislikes rather than keeping themselves engage on phone.

All in all, if all the factors are contemplated, I can say definitely there are some benefits of having smartphones, but it does not outweigh the negative repercussions. Smartphones destroy the communication among peers, and also, they indulge in a habit which is not right for their age.