TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

University provides stepping stone into the world of opportunities.There is no doubt in my mind that academics are important to students when they enter college: after all, universities are very fundamental to student life. However, is it important give preference to classes and libraries when young generation enrolled in a university? Many people believe that classes should be given more importance when students go to a university. On the other hand, I think sports and social activities should be given equal consideration. I hold this viewpoint for following reason which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, young generation enters university very shy and introvert, and athletic participation and social interaction help students to develop skills necessary to work in a group and make them comfortable with people from all walks of the life. My brother's experience is a convincing example of what I mean. Five years ago, when he enrolled in the California State University, he was very shy, he neither enjoyed talking to anyone nor liked working with others. However, he is very much interested in basketball and he chose the college solely based on the fact that the University is known for his on-court success. He participated in the basketball with other teammates. With regular participation and interaction with others, he became very confident and friendly with everyone. Not only this, because of a good sports team, he got an opportunity to represent the college at an International level, which brought fame and publicity to the college. This example clearly demonstrates that without a good sports team, my brother had not got an opportunity to meet people which made him a confident person. He often mentions that it all happened because of his participation in the college sports team.

Furthermore, sports is a very good business for the college. A good sports team can bring revenue to the university. Today, Universities all over the world experiencing funding crisis and an athletic team can bring a lot of money to the college through sponsorship, ticket sales etc. Many individuals and businesses are happy to sponsor their favorite sports team in exchange for promotional consideration. In return, the money can be used by the college to build other facilities such as libraries, dormitories. This is another example why a university should finance the sports team. As I mentioned above, my brother represented the basketball team internationally, and this gave the college publicity and many sponsors sponsored the college basketball team, as a result of the surplus money, his college build many facilities for students. This example explains some of the financial advantages of having a good sports facility.

All in all, I strongly believe college should give equal financial support to the college sports as they give to academics. This is because it helps a student to be more social and also it has a financial advantage as well.