TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At first sight, trustful people appear to us as a pleasant speaker and we tend to rely on a person who won’t lie to us. However, further analysis may bring us to the understanding, that in some occasions it is important to say a small lie to save a friendship or relationship. In my opinion, It is better not to tell the truth sometimes. I feel vehemently this way for two reasons which I will endeavour to expound in the following essay.

The primary and foremost reason for saying a little lie is saving a person from pain and suffering. It is important to understand that sometimes the truth can hurts so much that can cause illness or even death. To detail this I would like to make an example, connected with my good friend. Once she was in the hospital. During her staying there she was always asking me questions about her appearance and her hairstyle. I was understanding that she would feel much better and leave hospital faster if I cheer her up by saying that she looks gorgeous and by keeping her in the wonderful mood. Even if she understands that it was a lie, she would feel herself more confident and her positive thoughts would help her to fight against sickness.

Another factor that should be taken into account is that many people are losing their friends because of that they are too straightforward with friends and doesn’t think about people’s feelings. A good example of bad consequences of pure truth is the movie “Liar, Liar, Liar” with Jimm Carry. As a punishment for his behaviour, he lost his possibility of saying lies and this made him a completely truthful person. This changes in his life became a big catastrophe that almost led to the argument with his son and colleges. I consider it is important to remember that we are surrounded by different people and how it is hard sometimes to communicate properly and make new friends. It is important to know that people won’t appreciate your truth if it hurts them, and, probably, they won’t be happy to talk to you again.

To sum up, I think that lie is an important part of our daily communication, and it is not always a bad thing to say a small lie. But we should always remember that sometimes a small lie can grow into a bigger one and like a snowball it could fall down on our head. Therefore we should distinguish which lie is for the best and which makes you a liar.