TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different ideas and preferences about the concept of whether or not it is more significant to keep their old friends than it is to make new friends. Some people think that making new friends is more interesting. However, some people believe that it is better to keep their old friends. In my opinion, I would like to keep my old friends for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, friends play an important role in our lives. It is because we can trust our friends and share with them many things in our lives. How can we believe someone? It is no doubt that the answer is because after a long time we know each other, we play together and then understand each other more deeply. Therefore, we are able to recognize who we can trust and who we cannot trust. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. My best friend and I are friend of each other for more than twelve years. We do not hide each other anything, just because we understand each other so much. If she has any problem, she does not need to tell me anything. I can recognize and come to her. I know how to make her feel better.

Another reason is that old friends know our strengths and weaknesses more than new friends and they are able to help us to improve our abilities. Friends do not only play with us, share with us our feelings or talk to us. They also can help us to improve our capacities in our studies or in our jobs. For instance, my best friend good at math. She knows that I am not good at this subject. Thus, whenever, she had time she tried to help me how to learn math better. As a result, last semester I got a good mark at math.

Last but not least, if we make new friends, it takes us a long time to introduce each other and to know each other. Sometime after we play together some months we recognize that we cannot get along together, and we may hurt each other. To be more specific, last year, I would like to have more friends, so I participate in a club named “Talk Together". I met a friend there. In the beginning I felt that she was a good girl and we could be friend each other. However, after that several months, I knew the true that she always told me the lies.

In conclusion, friends are part of our lives. There is a saying that says "Tell me who are your friends, so I can tell what kind of person you are". That means friends are very important to us. Understand this concept, I strongly support the idea that it is more significant to keep our old friends rather than it is to make new friends.