TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are vital parts of our lives with whom we share our happiest and saddest moments together. Friends are companions we make through our lives everywhere we go to live, study or work. I disagree with the statement keeping old friends is more important that getting new ones. As we grow older, we keep changing the places we live in and environment around us where we meet new people every day.

The following statement is not true based on couple of my personal experiences. It is impossible for us to stop meeting new people, because it is the way of our lifestyle or demand from work. According to my experience, I had one best friend with whom I shared my everything including my secrets, dreams and wishes. We used to go to same kindergarten where we became this close, even our separation from kindergarten could not break our strong bond. Unfortunately, we went to different schools where we started getting distant. Even though I missed my best friend I had many difficulties in school such as learning a new language which is why I could not meet my friend. Simultaneously, I met some people at school who had same interests as mine and became best friends. Despite having an opinion that making new friends mean betraying my best friend, the environment made us to realize that making new friends is nothing but adapting to our new lifestyles.

Secondly, my best friend from class transferring to another school gave me a big trauma. Ever since I was a little girl I used to have one friend at a time, so when my friend from first to fifth grade transferred I did not have any friends left. This made me realize again that just by keeping an old friend i cant move or adapt to new circumstances. Although my friend and I got separated we tried to keep close as we could, but as time goes on it keeps getting more difficult.

Now that I went through this, I know that just keeping old friends is a bad habit and making new friends does not mean forgetting the old ones. Meeting new people everyday and making friends is a sign that we are moving forward and adapting to the environments we live in. On the other hand, keeping an old friend does not mean someone is weak on not adaptable, it means he or she is a friendly and outgoing person.