TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People generally think that keeping old friends are more beneficial than making new friends. However, they miss lots of opportunities that a new friend can provide. Therefore, in my opinion, people ought to make new friends rather than keeping old friends. I feel that this way is better for several reasons.

First of all, we ought to make new friends to become more social. Some of the scientific studies showed that people who they do not prefer to make new friends are getting shy. In other word, people who always keep their old friends lose their social abilities. Therefore, they isolate themselves from community that they live in. For this reason, people should not keep their old friends rather than making new ones.

Another reason to make new friends is if people always hang out with same people, their perspectives will be always same. However, new friends enable us to think in another way. This means that by making new friends, we also gain new perspectives. Henceforth, it is good to make new friends. To be more specific, when we confront a problem that we are not capable of cope with it, we want some of our friends to aid us. If they solve our problem, we learn their approaches to deal with similar problems. Yet, as we make new friends, then we will acquire new approaches rather than applying same ones. That is why it is more significant to make new friends rather than keeping old ones.

The most important reason is that new friends extend our network, which might provide us some job opportunities. Let’s suppose that you have been working for a telecommunication company for several years and your are not glad to be working on communication; thus, you want to change your field. However, most of your friends are still working on communication. In order to find a new job, you need some people whose job are related to a field that you are interested in. Unless you do not make new friends, it is really hard to find an opportunity in that field due to absence of recommendation or inadequate business network. Therefore, making new friends is better idea than keeping old ones.

In conclusion, it is good to make new friends rather than keeping old ones to catch some facilities that new friends can provide.