TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Both public transportation and personal vehicles are vitally important in our lives; yet, public transportation is not so efficient in terms of many aspects. Therefore, in my opinion, there will be more cars in use than there are today. I feel this way for several reasons.

One reason is that personal vehicles enable us to manage our times more efficiently by reducing the amount of time spending for arriving somewhere. To be more specific, it is much faster option compared with public transportation. For example, let’s suppose that you want to hang out with your friends outside, and place you determined is too far away from your house. As you do not have a car, then you will go there by metro or bus. However, you will have to wait for metro or bus in the station, which wastes your time. Instead of spending your time for waiting bus or metro, you would enjoy with your friends. For this reason, the number of cars will be higher than there are today.

Second reason is since population is increasing, people are in need of cars more than today. In other word, cities become bigger in terms of area which hinders to arrive target destination by foot. Moreover, in the case of public transportation, people need to use more than two bus or metro in big cities which swells cost. For instance, since Istanbul is pretty huge city, it is hard to go from a county to another county which poses a necessity for cars. That’s why I believe that number of cars are going to be ascended rather than decreasing.

Lastly, people really like driving car. Surveys have showed that people enjoy a lot while they are driving car, because they believe that having a car refers to a good social status in community. That’s why they attempt to buy more luxurious cars. For this, they try to gain more money. Once they save adequate money to buy a better car, they sell old one to other people who posses old car. To satisfy their demands, manufacturers produce more cars. As an example, most probably all of us see some second hand car selling pages on social media. In fact, all of those second hand cars has been manufactured before. Since they are not modern, meaning that demands are replaced with new cars, they are being sold by people. As a result, total number of car in the world is not alleviated.

In conclusion, even most of the people think that in twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today, it is impossible, as cars are part of our lives; henceforth, their numbers are going to be elevated.