TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In our present era, lives are simple and relaxing than how they were during our grandparents time. Because of the technological advancement and various inventions, our difficulties have been resolved to a greater extend.

During the time of our grandparents, they did not had the luxury of owning cars with air conditioners and GPS technology. At that time, most of the people depended on printed maps for navigation assistance and because of that they often used to get lost and face problems in identifying the north or the south directions. And not only this but cars at that time were not made air conditioned or had any heating functions available. Because of which the traveling was extremely difficult in summer or in extreme colder times. For example, my grandmother told me that it used to take her four hours to reach the next city in winter times because, cars often used to stop on the way as the engine were not compatible in extreme weather. Where as, in today's time it takes us only two hours.

During our grandparents time, the universities solely relied on published textbooks and skilled teacher for teaching purpose and assignments were based only on textbooks or books from the library. This was due to the absence of internet and computer facilities. However, in our time we can use internet to gain access to variety of sources of information to complete our assignments or classwork. Even teachers benefit from the use of internet by referring to online materials for better understanding.

Thirdly, our grandparents only had landline phones to communicate with each other and used to communicate long distant relatives and friends through mailing letters to each other. For example, my grandmother told me that when my grandfather traveled to another country, she used to write him letters that used to take almost a week to reach him and then another week for the response to come back. However, in our time we can benefit from the technology advanced cell phones and emails with the use of internet. And it only takes few seconds for a mail to be received by another and calls can be made internationally without any disruption or delays.

Our time is better than our grandparents time in mostly, technological point of view. All these inventions of cars, mobile phones, computers and especially internet has made our lives better to a greater extend. Due to the rapid advancement of technology and greater inventions, our generations can see a much more advancement in their lives and would be more easier and comfortable than now.