TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to the topic convenience in life today and in the past, people tend to develop various viewpoints. Some adopts the idea that our generation live an easier life than the our grandparent’s one thanks to the advanced technology’s help, whereas others are more inclined to the opposite notion because modern technology is too complex, it is hard for people to manage nowaday machines. Personally, I found myself at the same place with the former idea for the following reasons.

First and foremost, there is no war nowadays; unlike us, the previous generation had to deal with wars during their childhoods. It is undeniable the war deals a great harm to people’s life conditions. For example, my grandfather often tells me about his life when he was 10. At that time, our country was having a war with America; therefore, it was lack of safety for people. My grandfather told me that people could not live without worry because they had to protect themself from disasters from the bomb dropped into my grandfather’s village. In contrast, our generation live in a peaceful era and does not have to worry anything. In conclusion, life today is safetier than in our grandparents’ childhood.

Furthermore, advanced technology allows life to satisfied people’s demands. It is true that technology are better today than in the past. With the help of technology, people can do things faster and more efficiently, therefore, they can make money easily. Unfortunately, our grandparents were not lucky like us, older machines were not really this modern. To be more specific, if my grandfather wanted to contact with his brother in another city, he had to write a letter and it took him a long time to receive reply letter. On the contrary, nowadays, if I want to contact with my sister, I just need to call her through the phone and talk to her. Indeed, it clearly show thanks to technology, machines are more convenient today than in the past.

Ultimately, I believe that life today is not as hard as our grandparents’ childhood because of technology and peaceful life. As a result, we should respect what we have and throw our greeds away.