TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past few decades, our society has seen rapid changes in different fields like industry, agriculture and science. In some ways people’s life is easier than in the past. But it is usually not true in other ways.

Admittedly, the developments in transportation and the Internet technology have brought with them much convenience to people nowadays. But at what cost? The excess use of cars causes traffic problems, in big cities particularly. In the morning, young people have to get up very early, because they know how terrible the traffic congestion is during rush hours. They may get stuck in the jam and have to stay there unable to do anything but wait. People in old days never had to worry about this. The Internet now has played an indispensable part in our life. We buy things, play games, pay bills and even have dates on the Internet. It seems we can pretty much go about our lives with nothing but a cellphone and an Internet connection. But a recent survey has shown that people nowadays are spending too much time online while too little time accompanying their family. I can always see this in the restaurants. A family may sit together around a table, while everyone is busy checking their Facebook, twitter or WeChat. They don’t even talk! Days have gone when family members chatted at the dinner tables and exchanged their feelings with each other. I don’t think it is a comfortable life if everyone only cares about what is happening all around the world while they ignore what is going on in their families.

In addition, people nowadays are under greater stress than people in the past. Students today spend an average of eight hours everyday in classrooms. When they go back home, they are swamped with their homework. Staying up late is quite common among children in lower grades, much less high school students and college students. Those who have graduated from university are also under pressure. Young employees always complain about working extra hours and having no time to rest and relax. It is true. To make matters worse, there are many layoffs in companies these years. Young people have to keep their nose to the grindstone, just to keep their jobs. Old people these days also have stress. The rapid change in life makes them feel anxious. The feeling that they are left behind by everyone else is so strong that they cannot enjoy their retired life as they are supposed to. I can always see old people pay to learn how to use computers or instant messengers on their cellphones. If they don’t struggle to keep up, it is impossible to connect with their children who may work in another city and seldom come back. People in the past (when my grandparents were young) however, did not have so much stress. Young people did not have to compete so hard to graduate or secure a job (they were usually assigned a job by the local governments and they could do it until retirement). The elderly usually lived with their children and grandchildren, thus they had company.

From what has been discussed above, it is not hard to draw a conclusion that the developments in different fields may cause more severe problems than those they solve, and the stress in today’s society is greater than ever. Obviously, today’s life is not easier, but harder than life in the age when my grandparents were children.