It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

With the development of transportation technology and the Internet, encountering new people and making new friends is easer than ever. Some people claim that making new friends is more important than keeping the old ones. I do not agree with that. In my view, both new friends and old friends play an indispensable part in our life and it is a rigid approach to say one outweighs the other.

New friends can help us better adjust to new environments and from them we can learn something new. For example, last summer I went to Tianjin for a trip. I had never been there before. Lucky me, I met a guy named Jason on the way and he is a local. We hit off right away and became friends. He told me a lot about the city: their culture, traditions and their life there. He even introduced his friends to me and we eat out together in some of his favorite restaurants-to introduce some local cuisine to me. Thanks to his help, I had a good time in such an unfamiliar place and learnt so many things about it. In such case, new friends can do what old friends cannot do.

Old friends have spent years with us and we have a friendship that has been tested by time. When we are in trouble, they will come and help without hesitation. Three years ago, I was laid up with influenza and it really caught me off guard. I couldn’t attend the classes and I had nothing to do but stay in bed all day. Knowing that, my old friend Tom (we had known each other since childhood) pulled out all the stops to help me in every way. He made chicken soup for me and shared his notes taken in class with me. With his help, I got well in just three weeks, much sooner than what I had expected and I managed to catch up with my classmates. My new friends also came to visit me and encouraged me, and I appreciated that. They, however, did not spend as much time with me.

Since new friends and old friends are helpful to us in different ways, there is no need to prize one over another. What we should do is to make new friends and maintain the old ones at the same time, which is not a difficult task, would you not say so?