TPO5_ Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, there are more options for entertainment than ever. With the development of transportation and the Internet technology, one can go anywhere they like and interact with anyone online. Seeing this, some people express their worries and say people nowadays do too much things that they like rather than things they are supposed to do. In my view, it is a misunderstanding.

Young people, as I know, are faced with great stress from their study or work. Students spend an average of eight hours everyday in classroom. When they go back home, they are swamped with their homework. Staying up late is quite common among students in lower grades,much less high school students and college students. Do they like their quizzes, assignments and projects? Probably not. Can they do what they really like? For most of them, it is quite impossible. Those who have graduated from university are also under pressure. Young employees always complain about working extra hours and having no time to be with family and friends. It is true. To make matters worse, the economy these years is not as good as a decade ago. There are many layoffs in companies. Young people have to keep their nose to the grindstone, just to keep their jobs. They simply have no time or mood for entertainment.

Old people, especially those who have retired do not have so much to do. They have savings and their kids have all grown up and have their own families, so keeping healthy and enjoying their retired life is their highest priority. That requires the elderly to do what they really like. Take my grandpa, he is a big fan of music and he learned to play piano at a young age. However, he had to stop pursuing his music dream after he had grown up because he needed to work hard to support the family. Now he is retired and he never has to worry about money anymore. He has started playing piano again and joined in a band in the community. No doubt he enjoyed his life and that is essential to his overall health. In this case, my grandpa’s hobby, playing music, is what he likes to do as well as what he should do. He, therefore, literally cannot do things that he likes while ignoring things he is supposed to do. The same applies to other elderly people.

From what has been discussed above, it is not hard to draw a conclusion that although there are more ways of entertainment these days, people, young and old, are actually not spending too much time on their personal enjoyments rather than what they should do. Instead, youngsters are overwhelmed by their work and they cannot afford to do their hobbies, while people in age are actually doing what they should do when doing what they like.