It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

People today have various ways to meet strangers and to make friends with them thanks to the ever renewing technology on social networking. Therefore, making new friends seems to be much easier, and some people even start to claim that it is not as important and meaningful as it is to keep old friends, but is this really the case? Since new friends and old friends all have their own ways of making our lives happy, fulfilled and satisfying, it would be a rigid approach to say that one outweighs the other.

Making new friends is a natural part of life, for they take good care of us when we move to new places and encounter new environments, and they also bring new possibilities which may lead to better lives. Throughout our lives, we are often “newcomers” to a place or situation, and it is our new friends who lend us a hand when old friends might be unavailable or too far to help. Without new friends, even finding the nearest hospital in a city we newly arrived in could be a challenging task. Also, new friends show us different ways of thinking or doing things, and they can help us widen social circles by introducing us to their friends too. Some people become more tolerant by interacting with friends of different sorts; some people even get married thanks to new friends’ arrangements. With new friends, life is more likely to be safe and promising.

New friends are indeed of great importance and value, but it does not mean that we should pay any less attention to keeping old friends. When we hang out with old friends from the same place in a strange city, a sense of belonging, a feeling of nostalgia arises and that is something never happens with new friends. When we return to our hometowns, it is also our old friends who give us a warm welcome and make us feel that we are home. In addition, whenever we need a listener to share our sorrow or happiness, old friends would probably be the first we call on the phone, since they usually know much better about what confuses us and how to comfort us than new friends. We may not be in the most frequent contact with our old friends, but they do have their own places which cannot be taken in our hearts.

Friends’ importance cannot be determined by how long we know them, and each friend may play a unique role that can never be replaced by others. It would just be an unfair statement to claim that keeping old friends is more important than making new ones.