Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

People in modern society are bombarded by advertisements everyday. On the streets, in the subway and on televisions, they are shown products that they are supposed to desire and buy. That seems to be a normal thing in this consumption led society. However, a question presents itself recently: whether TV commercials should be made for young children who are aged two to five? In my view, such commercials should be banned for the reasons as follow.

First, commercials on TV targeting youngsters may create tension and conflicts between the kids and their parents. Raising a child could be quite stressful for young couples who usually do not have much savings and experience. They may work very hard from morning till evening just to make the ends meet. However, young kids under five cannot understand this and they may resent it when their parents do not buy them whatever they have seen on the TV. Take my nephew, who is now four years old, as an example. One day he saw a commercial on the television showing a fancy toy car and he wanted it badly. His parents refused to buy it for him since he already had quite a few toy cars, and that toy car was quite expensive. My nephew started to make scenes and gave his parents headaches. There is a definite link between his misbehavior and that commercial. It showed that all the kids had that car and they were having a lot fun together. My nephew was thus deluded that everyone had that car except him.

What’s more, TV commercials directed for young kids may corrupt their minds and deteriorate their physical health. Some unscrupulous companies make advertisements full of scenes of violence and the language used is questionable. That can often be seen in toy commercials. That will certainly draw kids attention. What concerns me most is that kids that are under five cannot tell what is right and what is wrong. They just imitate whatever they see and hear. No doubt the violence and abused language will have an impact on them and cause their future misbehavior. Also, we can see fast food commercials on TV that are made for youngsters. Burgers, potato chips and carbonated drinks are all detrimental to people’s health. Yet they are delicious and they look quite good on TV. Children will keep pestering their parents to buy them those junks. As a result, we have more overweight kids than ever.

As is discussed above, advertisements targeting young children will do more harm than good to their mind, body and relationship with their parents. To save them from all these misleading and harmful messages, it is time for us to take action and say no to those advertisements.