In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

These days, people in growing numbers start to complain about the traffic problems and environment issues caused by too many cars on the road. Some of them claim that there will be less car use in 20 years. In my view, it is not realistic and there will be more car usage in 20 years.

To begin with, in 20 years more people will be able to afford cars. The development in economy has improved people’s life dramatically. With a higher income, more people have enough money to purchase a car nowadays than 20 years ago. It seems that the economy is not likely to turn bad in the near future, so it is a safe assumption that even a larger number of people will own their cars in 20 years. Also, the price of cars has been going down in the past decade. It is not hard to imagine that automobiles will be more accessible as time goes by and the number of car owners will rise.

Some may point out that the traffic congestion is a serious problem now, and the government is responsible to limit the number of private cars in big cities. It is only partly right. Too many cars will create more traffic, but limiting the use of cars will certainly cause inconvenience for people. There could be better solutions though. The government can enlarge the capacity of roads, or have more tall buildings to ensure that the land is more efficiently used, which will make room for more high ways. Either way will solve the problem.

People may argue that cars pollute the environment for they emit harmful gas waste into the air. They fail to mention the development in the field of electricity-powered cars in recent years. A growing number of people start to use these eco-friendly vehicles instead of those powered by fossil fuels. Instead of simply giving up the pleasure and convenience of driving in fear of doing harm to the environment, we can take actions to help develop new techniques that will make automobiles a green transportation.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely draw a conclusion that cars are not likely to be used less in the near future. By developing new technology and making use of the city land more efficiently, we can avoid the troubles of using cars while enjoy the benefits they bring to us. Without the worries of poisoning the air and congesting the road, more people will choose to drive cars.