TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Modern technology has caused almost all of well-known companies and educational institutions recruit creative people. Some believe that students should spend most of their times, concentrating to understand the basic facts if they like to be successful in their future career. Others, on the other hand, have the opposite perspective, thinking that being creative and understanding the concepts are much more useful. I hold the latter opinion, since in this modern world, creativity and innovations are the essential factors which guarantee the prosperity and being employed.

To start with, all the modern technologies have been inventing because of creative inventors. When students learn how to create new ideas and concepts, they will be much more helpful in their future jobs. Companies such as Google and Microsoft are established by creative and genius minds. The establisher of Microsoft, Bill Gates, actually abandoned his university as during that time most universities were focussed only basic knowledge and did not value the concepts and novel ideas. If Bill Gates continued his studies, presumably he would not be successful to establish Microsoft. Considering advanced mobiles, laptops, automobiles, airplanes and so on, the importance of being creative will be understood significantly. Focusing only on basic knowledge would forced our minds to just be involved to what our previous inventors, physicians and generally scientists discovered. This strategy stops the mind to think the alternative way, to invent challenging method and finally to encourage to discover and analyse the unknowns. It can be clearly understood that without motivating the students to brainstorm the new ideas and concepts, all these advances were not available today.

In addition, learning basic facts are hard for students and will be forgotten when they will start their future careers. Basic facts are usually complicated and forcing students to learn just the facts will discourage them of continuing their studies. Currently, most of students do not like mathematics because the current curriculum are very basics and students cannot connect the application of mathematics in the real life. Take Australian high schools as an example. Recently, the Australian education institutions have changed the mathematics contents to attract high school students. They have tried to promote the ideas and concepts of creating calculators for example rather than performing complicated mathematical formulas in the courses. The outcome was outstanding and more students have tried to learn mathematics. Furthermore, students will forget all the basic knowledge after few years. The basic information is going to be used only in the exam. Honestly, how many of professional engineers can perform integration calculations. This explanation clearly has shed the light why understanding ideas are paramount.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion of motivating students to learn how to be innovative and how to try challenging and unfamiliar methods. If we like to witness the continuous trend of innovations, our universities might focus more on raising students with creative minds who knows well about ideas and concepts.