TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many professionals these days receive important knowlegde in their careers. This information can be in form of concepts or specifict facts that help the students understand the core of their disciplines. In my opinion, the most important information a student can get is concepts and ideas due to the fact that they offer the posibility to generate better decisions,to analize problems carefully and to understand complicated equations related with your field of study.

First of all, If students catch up concepts in colleges, they will be able to make good decisions whenever is needed. For example, A civil engineer who is going to build a brigde has to base his measuments in his concepts such as the soil in which the brigde is going to be built,the material required for this construction and the study of the enviroment around the structure. Therefore, the knowledge of basic concepts should be presented in every decision a profesional face.

Second, Another importance of learning the concepts in college is the way a student can analize issues. For instance,a system engineer who has to modify a web page needs to analize the characteristics of the problem based on principles learned in college such as algoritims and language programming , so he can propose improvements in the task assigned. Moreover, the analisys of problems can apply to the daily life in which a student have to make basics inferences such as how much to pay in a twenty percent discount.This examples clearly illustrate the importance of core concepts in analisys.

Third, in addition in the decision making and the analisys of issues, the concepts can also help profesionals to understand complicated equations that now are widely used since the computers give us this opportunity. A good example of this idea is when an engineer has to explain a result made using a equations that came from a simulator.This profesional has to look over all the data introduced before he agree with the anwers obtained. Moreover, if a student knows his concepts he will be able to catch up the equation even though he never saw or studied this equation in the university.

In conclusion, The concepts should be fully understood in colleges more than facts because they will support your decision making , analisys of problems and understanding of computational equations.