TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans are evolving species that improved upon themselves for thousands of years.We did not gain every bit of our knowledge as if it was in the open air. There is always a method on how all these complex matters have solved and made it's way to our everyday uses. I believe that there is no use in automatically memorizing facts without learning and understanding them in the first place. Because automatically learned facts will not remain in our memories for long and it is hard to use them especially in scientific fields when one do not understand the real reason behind it.

Memorizing facts will affect our production adversely. When it comes to work , we trust our knowledge to solve problems we face. However, facts we have learned automatically will not help us to decipher our problems when an unknown mystery challenges us. Solving problem includes analyzing the data and finding a way to solve the problem based on our knowledge.

There was a time when I had to solve physics equation on my exam, so crammed all the formulas as fast as I could before the exam. During the actual test I faced an equation where i had to use few formulas in order to solve the problem. Unfortunately, i could not combine two formulas, because i did not understand the concept behind it. As a result I failed to solve the problem which had the most point.

After the test, I did not use these formulas again, so I did not try to understand them nor revise them. Consequently, I forgot all the formulas due to the fact that I did not understand them at all at the first place. When the end of semester exam came, I was not ready because there were too many lessons to revise and I forgot the previous lessons that I learned during mid-semester. Although I gained few points by cramming and memorizing all formulas before my test, these memories did not last for a long time because I did not understand what causes these formulas to change and be the way they are.

In conclusion, understanding ideas and concepts is better that learning them as facts. When we understand the topic deeply with interest and passion it not be forgotten over time as easily as memorizing them.