TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

" Watching cartoon network is part of a child's growing up days".Television is one of the media sources to get rid of boredom neither laziness of a child. One factor to take into considerate is watching television can help a child to divert his/her attention from their behavioral changes. I personally, disagree that television advertising towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Furthermore, there are advantages and disadvantages in letting the child to watch television advertising and can be permitted.

In my view, early stage of a child is the beginning of their learning process on their developmental milestones. Developmental milestones is a process of learning from birth to toddler stage. In which the child will learn how to walk,

play and talk. During their developmental milestones they started to explore, wonder and observe the surroundings. They begin to use their five senses and started to develop as well, also their way of thinking is much more advance. With the use of their five senses

( touch, smell, taste, hear and see) they can learn fast and adapt easily. Their five senses is one way for them to communicate better to other people. In our society, we encounter different types of children with motor developmental delay.However, in our society we cannot avoid to encounter children with disability despite of their ability to understand, they can able to communicate with their physical gestures by using sign languages and communication board. But, being disable is not a barrier for a child to learn. A child with disability can learn through the program that can teach and educate them as well. On my personal example, I have a niece who have motor developmental delayed whenever I talk to her she looks normal and easy to talk with, theirs no signs of behavioral changes she acts like a normal child. Henceforth, every child is different it's just depend on how the parent took care of the child.

Personally, the disadvantage of having the child to watch television advertisement is that, they will get in touch or will get addicted on watching sometimes, they make it a habit and never realize the time usage of watching is being extended in a prolonged of period of time. One way to limit them, is to educate them how to have control, in fact, children at this age are listening thoroughly to their parents. In our society nowadays, children are inevitable especially the changes on the technology. In my own personal example, I educate my son to limit the usage of television and computer. As a parental advice and golden rule: the only reason he can use the computer is for him to do his homework, whereas, watching television is only for weekends. It can also give adverse effect to children such as it might affect their studies that will lead to decrease their grades in school.

Furthermore, parental guidance is also one of the important thing to take into consideration. Giving them guidance will turn out a child to become a good listener and able to follow the rules made by their parents, Therefore, they will grow as a good and obedient child. As my conclusion, their are good ways and bad ways on permitting a child to watch television advertisement it's only depend on how the parents raise and bring them up to become a better child that includes self discipline and self control.