TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Target advertising has been emerged as one of the most effective strategies to attract costumers. This advertising is directed toward a certain small group of people who assumed to be interested in the particular product. Some people, nowadays, argue that television commercial that directed towards children should be prohibited. However, I do not agree with this idea for the following reasons.

Firstly, many companies that are specialized in children products exist around the globe. and all of them have the right to advertise their product in any modality including the television. Moreover, most of these commercial are for products that are beneficial to the youth, even some of the games are intended to teach the child new skills like reading and counting, Thus, they are not merely waste of money. Furthermore, people who claim that such advertising should be stopped did not provide a logical explanation to support their arguments. In this way their claim is worthless. For instance, during the last week, I watched a commercial of an electronic robot that can talk and interact with the child, So, it enables the children as young as three years to develop considerable speaking skills. So, I decided to buy it for my son. Had I not seen that commercial, I would not able to know about it.

Secondly, even the children commercial is withdrawn from the television, children still exposed to such advertising everywhere like billboards and the internet. So, the prevention of such advertising does not carry any benefits. Moreover, more of the youth commercials are focused on the clothes, toys and video game. In addition, young children cannot go and buy anything without the approval of their parents first due to the fact that they do not have their own source of money. For example, my cousin is four years old and like to watch children programmes on television, even though there are a lot of commercials, we did not notice any negative effects on his behaviour. In contrary, he enjoyed listening to the music that accompanies these commercials.

In conclusion, one can not assume that children's advertisements have bad effects and must be prevented since these commercial does not carry any hazards to the child.