TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

In today's life, people are preoccupied with their work. They barely find time to enjoy their lives. Even though, some people think that nowadays people are spending much time on personal enjoyment rather than doing what they should do. Personally, I disagree with this idea for the following reasons.

To begin with, Who has the authority to decide what the people should do in their lives? In other words, maybe what I should do is exactly what I enjoyed. Furthermore, researchers have been proven that people who spend some of their time doing activities they like are more likely to show better performance in their work. However, most of the young adult prefer to work in the field they are interested in, so, they can hit two birds with one stone, since they will do their work, and at the same time, in the way they like. For, instance, musicians spend most of their time singing or listening to music. But actually, this is what they should do, due to the fact that this is their real work. In addition, video game developers usually spend most of their time playing or watching this kind of games; they do this because simply this is their job in the first place, but at the same time they have fun while doing what they should do. So, this topic is subjective, and no one can make a clear cut-point regarding this issue.

Secondly, most of the nation who believe that the recent generations are wasting their time doing unimportant things rather than invest it in better things are in fact cannot provide any evidence to support their claims. On the other hand, most of the teens, nowadays, have a part-time job in order to offer for their tuition fees. Nonetheless, with the prominent acceleration of the number of the graduate every year, and the limitation of the job opportunity, people tend to put an extra effort on the work in order to secure their position. And because they spend most of their time working, some of them invent methods to have fun while they are doing their jobs. For example, one of my friends who was working as a Sales Representative in a reputable company lost his job during the economic crisis that attacks my country in the last year. At that time the company reduced the number of the employee to counter the losses in its profits. and due to the fact that my friend was always preoccupied with social events and rarely do his work as it should be, he was vulnerable to losing his job, and that what actually happened. Thus, he learned an invaluable lesson from that event. So, later on, when he was hired by another company, he decided to do his work in his own way. Thus, he used to organize social events and invite the customers to these events where he represents the product for them. By the end, both the customers and my friend was glad. consequently, the profits of the company have been raised to a large extent. Accordingly, my friend has gained multiple promotions. And again, this emphasizes the fact that people can have personal enjoyment through their works.

In conclusion, a smart person can bring joy to his work, and that does not necessarily mean that he is incompetent in his job.