TPO 10. A/D? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

There is no shortage of debates about the activities that can affect in negative way getting all the leisure time of children. I completely agree that kids should not be permitted to be busy with digital games. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following way.

Initially granted, instead of playing computer games, kids can do some additional practices to advance in their lessons. It is clear that children can be distracted by the games they played because digital games are more attractive and funnier for kids than lessons. My own experience is a good example for this reason. In my childhood, I mostly preferred to play on computer or in smartphones, but my parents observed that I have gradual regression in my lessons; thus, they prohibited me to play digital games more than three hours in a week, and this ban had a good impact on my lessons, with a rapid advance. Furthermore, because children are very young to get any decision about their life, their parents should be cautious and should not let them play computer games in normal or excess amount due to waste of time. Therefore, because of the games distracting them from lessons, parents should prohibit them to play digital games.

Secondly, children who play digital computer games become isolated from outdoor activities and spend their leisure time in home, and stay at home playing digital games. It is obvious that with the help of social outdoor activities, they can gain some experience, self-esteem, and encouragement. For example, according to researches done by British scholars, social scientists compared the self-esteem level of children playing computer games and that of kids engaging in social activities. The results showed that kids wasting their time on computer games demonstrated low level of self-esteem and they were almost introvert children. But latter ones showed high level of encouragement, suggesting that parents should not let their children play digital games. In addition to this reason, becoming isolated from outdoor activities can also have a negative impact on children’s health, such as causing diabetes. Hence, games cause children to become introvert, thus parents should not allow them to play digital games.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is extremely beneficial for parents to prohibit their kids playing any digital games due to waste of time.