TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate about whether it is better to play computer games for children or avoid spending time on this virtual world. As far as I am concerned, computer games are not harmful as they are though; even they have so many benefits. Recent researches show that if children spend three hours on computer, they become more relevant to technology in their adult ages. When above reasons are taken into account, playing computer games is preferable for young people particularly in some terms.

Firstly, we call this century as technology age and spending time on computer is nearly a must for children. We are witnessed the digital transition but zero generation was born into a completely digital world. Forbidding computer games sounds like forbidding breathing for them. For instance, think about an alone child whose friends are playing computer games all the time. When this child grow up, probably s/he will feel lonely due to the fact that s/he lived another life with his/her generation. Of course spending 12 hours per day is harmful for young people but forbidding computer games is outdated for this term.

Secondly, computer games help people to create a social enviroment that players can just communicate. Why do some adults think playing computer games means being anti-social? Actually there are tons of people who know themselves from these games. I can even find a roommate from computer games, so did I. Yes, I am living with a computer game addict who I met from a mobile game. In this age, friendships are becoming digital too like everything else.

Last but not least, computer games contribute language skills of player. In computer games, players from different countries have to communicate in one common language and this is English most of the time. By the purpose of communication, children force themselves and use so many new words. Also computer games are made in English language usually. That means, if a child wants to play game properly, s/he has to understand the instruction. Even this circumstance is a challange for children to learn English.

To sum up, it is obvious that peoples fear about computer games are expired. It is the time of Internet-based things and of course children are the biggest users of them. If parents try to do not allow playing computer games for their children, they can unbalance their future life. Although parents believe that this is for childrens favor, they might be wrong in their opinions. Dont forget that we call it the “computer age”!