TPO-11 - Independent Writing Task Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?Use specific reasons and examples to support you

I agree with the view that internet provides a lot of valuable information. I personally believe that internet is a boon for us and has brought a lot of good changes in the society. There is no doubt that some people are using it for wrong purposes such as spreading hate and terrorism but when the benefits outweigh the harm then one definitely comes to this conclusion.

The more the valuable information we get the more our brains get intellectually stimulated. On the other hand, limiting the access to information has been the behavior of the tyrants from the times immemorial. For example, we all know that the prestigious library of Alexandria was burnt to erase the history and make masses adhere to the ideology of the dictators. Those books were of tremendous importance and destroying them took the culture backwards and impeded the growth of human civilization. It could be that our brains may not be able to process all the information at one time but this doesn't mean that we limit the access to the information. The people can take in the information at there own pace and process them and this will accelerate the development of their brain resulting in an intellectually developed society and even better living conditions for human life.

Further, in today's global society as the world is shrinking and people are coming closer there is even more need of a continuous flow of information to help people interact with each other. Information is so much needed nowadays that there is a separate branch of knowledge known as Information Technology now and students that graduate from a University in this field have good prospects of employment. The more the people are getting information the more they are learning about other cultures, countries, religions and beliefs. This is helpful because people may have to relocate to a different part of the world for education, work and better life. If people already have information about the other culture and their government they are moving to then it will be so much easier for them to interact with people in their new surroundings. For example, when I came to USA from India, I watched lot videos and read articles on the internet about the American culture and life of people over here. This helped me tremendously and I was able to make friends at my University and assimilate in the society.

Also, students use internet a lot to reasearch the information they need to write a paper or do their assignments. It is so much easy to get valuable information over the internet as one can access it anytime and at any place that has wifi connection. Students don't have to wait for their library to open or to get the book or the Journal that they need. Information is instant now and it is like magic that just by pressing few keys one can get any information that they need within a few seconds. So this miracle should not be limited or restricted as it may take our civilization backwards rather than forwards.

Therefore, because of all the above reasons, I strongly agree with the above statement that internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. I only hope that everyone will realize this and will continue to benefit from it so that our human civilization can develop even more.