TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In some comprehensive universities, they have extended more faculties and academic courses which arouses students’ interest in whether they need to take a broad subjects or just specialize in a specific subject. From my point of view, I maintain that achieving a broader subjects could have more benefits , although studying a specific part may provides more advantages when we find jobs.

First of all, acquiring a wide range of knowledge enables us to recognize ourselves better thus finding the most suitable course for us. A number of students could not persist their interest in most time and have the thought of change to another major, however, with the chance of dealing with a variety of areas, our horizons will be broadened efficiently. Take myself as an example, I choose a medical major when I got to my university because my parents thought it would be a popular profession to find a noble job. However, after I get access to those subjects, I found myself uninterested in it at all, and my eyes turned into the environmental sciences. The open opportunities to have class of all subjects enable me to fully understand another major and get the bravery to cater my inner voice.

In addition, if you master extra skills besides your major, your ratio to get a job will be amplified. In instance, suppose that there is a student who can not only deal with computer problems but also speak another language, if the boss want a employer to do some interpreting work for him, then this student is obviously more possible to get the job than other employers. If we already get a job, we also have more chances to get promotion because we are capable to offer help in many other areas.

Of course, we have to admit that a student who have focused on a specialized major is more likely to get higher position as well depending on the interest of the employee. A doctor is usually more appealing than a master in most of the time. It reminds us that what matters is not whether you get a broad range of knowledge or specialize in a position but all the theories and skills that are you already owned.

In conclusion,faced with such a challenging world, all we need to do is to improve our practical skills and no matter what we learn, understand it and use it but not just say it.