TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education plays a significant role in our lives. It is believed that the more knowledge we gain, the more success we will have in the future. However, when people invest their energy in their education, they raise the question of whether it is better of have broad knowledge in various fields than focus on one specific subject. People have their own idea about this issue. In my point of view, I prefer to concentrate on one major. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, time is limited, but knowledge is infinitive. There are variety of things we want to learn every day, but cannot do many things in a certain time. Therefore, it is better to choose special things and try to do as best as we can. Moreover, we are living in a modern society. The more our lives develop the more things we have to learn to be able to meet the standard of living. To be more specific, in the university, students often require to take many courses. Meanwhile, for students, it seems to me that they are always feel short of time. If they study a lot of subjects, they do not have enough time to study carefully and do a lot of research in order to understand their major thoroughly. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. When I was in nursing college, I loved to develop my knowledge in many subjects. In a term, I took six courses. I worked diligently day and night. However, I could not get good results as I expected to have. Eventually, I dropped some classes that were irrelevant with my major, As a result, I got better grades in remain subjects.

Alongside the elaborated reason above, another idea that is noteworthy to consider is that it is easier to get a job when you are expert one. It is no doubt that company owners now tend to hire employee who specialize in their major than hiring the workers who are jack of all trades, but master of none. In other words company managers love to hire professional workers in order to benefit their companies. Likewise, we all know that the purpose of gaining knowledge is to have a job. If owners loves to engage specializing one, why do we have to learn many subjects? Why don’t we spend our energy to focus on one major and do as best as we can?

In conclusion, people have different ideas about the concept of whether they should invest their time on one specific subject or broad fields. For two reasons, which I have mentioned above, I totally support people study in one major instead of many.