TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A simple recognition of the argument leads our discussion to controversial issue about whether students are supposed to take broaden subjects rather than to specialize in one specific subject. Some individuals argue that specific subject allow students sharpen their professional knowledge. By contrast, from my perspective, taking broaden subjects is essential for students to go further in the future.

To begin with, broaden knowledge allow students to form all-round development. The variety of knowledge is related to innovation. Broaden knowledge facilitates students to fulfill their own knowledge system, which is the bedrock of innovation. It is verified by process of solving problems in science. There are many kinds of interdiscipline, such as remote sensing, it consists of optics and electromagnetism to take pictures about land from outer space. By contrast, if scientists focus on optics all the time, they can’t increase the resolution about remote sense pictures. With the basis of electromagnetism, they can find a band for increasing quality of pictures. Besides, broaden knowledge causes students to finish work efficiently in the future. Before extensive application of computer, all of data in research cost much time of scientists to analyze. Nowadays, there are variety of application in the Internet having strong ability to handle with data just in few of second. It is beneficial for students to learn this kind of knowledge.

Furthermore, broaden knowledge is the basis for course in college. For high school students, most of them study diligently to apply for a university with high reputation or high academic ability. All of knowledge learned in high school are directly related with those in college. Such as, in order to absorb math’s knowledge as possible as you can in college, you are suggested with firm fundamental knowledge system about math, which is available in high school.

In conclusion, broaden knowledge of academic subjects not only benefits students’ further education, but also foster students to be all-round people.