TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the technology develops, people have become more commercial and they are not even spending time with their families. most of the countries like India and other Asian countries, the joint family is their tradition. However, now the families in the many countries are not as long as they used to be and everyone choosing the small nuclear family instead of the large extended family. Some people believe it is not necessary to give importance to the large family and others are not. As per as my concern, since the world has been growing fast most of the educated people moving their families to the urban areas, as a result, shrink the family size because of the cost and limited size houses.

First, the people in the past decade, most of them are colonized in their communities as large families but when the people start shifting from the countryside to cities for employment they limited their family members. Because the cost of the living is more expensive such as paying rent for the house and other utilities including their daily requirements. For example, when I was studying high school, we used to live in the small village with a group of ten family members including my grandparents. Although we have a large family, my father never feel difficulty financially because we got everything from my own farmlands. On the top of that, we have an own house so no need to pay room rent.

Second, if the family is large it is difficult to stay in the cities because the houses accommodate only a limited number of the people. When we are searching for the house in the cities for living, most of them are either two are three bedrooms means it limiting the people to live. Although, the people like to stay with their whole family, because of the restrictions they are preferring small family. For instance, when I was studying for my master's degree, I moved to the city. Initially, my dad was planning to shift the whole family to the city, However, he didn't get the big house to accommodate the total family. What more, we left my relatives in my village and I and my parents are changed to the city even though we don't like to stay away from my relatives.

In conclusion, no one like to separate from their whole family, the unfortunate consequences like increased cost and other facilities make people compromise with small nuclear family.