Big family mean , having caring people whom you can count on when you are worst situation.

Although with the development of cities, invention of technology and busy schedule extended family is second priority for people.

I personally concur with the statement that extended family is less important now than it was in past for the following reasons:

To begin, nowadays people have busy schedule, need to develop their living standards.

For instance, I'm working 8 hours daily, at weekend I take rest I hardly find time to meet my parents i dont have that much time and passions to visit families.

Furthermore, with the invention of internet people are tend to be more in communication via internet than meeting.

In addition, with the development of cities people prefer to live separately I have personal experience in past my mom was living in very extended family she had grandparents , parents , aunts, uncles but now we are living in very small sized family.

Last but not least, people want to be independent , extended family some time cause interference in personal decision making, also extended family mean more responsibly and pressure for example, ladies in big family need to cook for large number people therefor, people prefer to live separately because much much convience.

To sum up; considering mentioned reason people give less importance to extended family.