TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is one of the first group that an individual engages to it unconsciously. A family is not confined into parents and their children, it implies parents of parents, their siblings, children of siblings and the list goes on with the other relatives. Therefore, family may convert to an extended family. Some people agree that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past, others disagree. Even though The extended family is beneficiary for people in childhood because children can play with their relatives as their first friends and their playmates, in my view, nowadays it is less important than the past because of two important reasons.

First, people prefer to live on their own rather than expanded families. Due to the contemporary living trends, people are not dependable on each other compared to the past. Priorities in life change because the style alters. One of the most significant factors that impact the lifestyle is the social network. every person in a social network has many friends, which are not obligatory friends or family but choosable friends. People prefer to choose their friends and have the right to choose. This right has a direct effect on connection with families, which makes it lighter.

Second, you cannot trust your family members like before. Today, everybody become more sinister because of economical issues or desire to be ostentatious. They may even fraud their own relatives for some bux more. For example, I remember my uncle which was trusted by his relatives. Someday he came up with an idea about investing in a company which provided goods. He deceived his brothers and sisters, which one of them is my father, to buy some shares from this industrial company. When he succeed to lure them for investing money and give all the money which was an enormous quantity, he suddenly disappeared. He did not answer his phone, and no one had an idea where he was. Even we were worried that he might had an accident or something. Later, we found out that our beloved uncle was a fraud, and he steal all of the money and exit the country for his own sake. He destroyed all the faithfulness and loyalty that he achieved in all of those years by doing something vicious. This event learned me that even you share the same blood with your family members, they may be sinister and want to make harm to you. Thus, trusting a friend may be better because you do not expect for a friend to be loyal.

Therefore, in this era, people are not reliable on the extended family and its members. They prefer to rely on their own.