TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the economic boom in the developing countries, increasing numbers of visitors will have a journey during the weekend or vacation. Therefore, the interesting discussion about whether the travel in group led by a tour guide can be the best way of travelling. As far as I am concerned, travelling alone may be a better choice, owing to more flexible timetable or visiting more places.

Most importantly, travelling alone is able to get a more flexible timetable for our journey. It is widely-known that setting a fixed timetable must be the first step for a group of people to travel. However, it is extremely difficult for a tour guide to set a plan, which is suitable or available for each one in the group. Thus, we may not get a satisfaction with the travelling plan in the group. Even though we are satisfied with plan at the beginning, we may want to change the schedule during the trip. For example, last time my friends and I went to the Yunnan province for a trip, but we decided to take a chance of bungie jumps, which was not included in our original plan. If we took a journey in a group with a tour guide, we may miss the most exciting and unforgettable experience of bungie jumps during the journey.

Additionally, visiting more places or somewhere which is not traditional scene spot may contribute to the reason of travelling alone. If we go to a travel agency to select a travelling plan for a specify destination like Sichuan province, there will be only several routines for us to choose, only including some traditional scenes like Jiuzhai valley. However, when planning a journey on our own, we find out that there are numerous kinds of wonderful scenes which travel agencies never mention on their journey. Besides, the ticket prices of most traditional scenes are more exorbitant than some infamous or new scenes, because more visitors in travelling groups will be lead to those scenes by their tour guides. Finally, some tour guides in China will plan a trip to shopping center for getting the commission, which will totally ruin your good mood during the journey.

Admittedly, travelling with a tour guide could be a more convenient and less concerning way for us, but we may not satisfy with the journey planned by a tour guide, due to less flexible timetable or visiting less places. Besides, planning the trip by ourselves also can enhance our ability of making a schedule or do a research about the journey.

All in all, it is safe to conclude that the travel in group led by a tour guide cannot be the best way of travelling.