it could be more important to read or watch news about opposite opinions rather than similar opinions

With the increasing kinds of means for us to express our own opinions, whether we should read or watch news about opposite opinions becomes a hot-button topic on the air. As for me, I believe that it could be more important to read or watch news about opposite opinions rather than similar opinions, because of getting objective prospective and embracing different ideas.

Most importantly, read or watch news about opposite opinions would lead us with an objective prospective. As is common sense, different people may have different perspective even after reading the same book or experiencing the same story. Therefore, our own idea may only show one side of problem in book or story. For example, my cousins Joe and Mark hold different opinions on whether online sharing bicycle should be allowed in the road. Joe, who rides the sharing bicycle every day, believes that online sharing bicycles have brought great convenience to the public, which could save us lots of time during traffic jam. However, Mark, who owns his cars for commute, is disagreed with Joe ideas, because he thinks that sharing bicycles bring the careless parking in the roads, which could be harmful to the view of the city. Although both of them are reasonable to us, they only consider their own side according to their own interest. Therefore, after the discussion, we can get a more general and objective prospective to the problem. On the contrary, if one only force himself to similar opinions, he may foster his subjective opinion again and again.

Additionally, opposite opinions can help us to open our mind to embrace different ideas, because opposite opinions can lead us to a brainstorm and even forming critical thinking in our mind. Thus, we could more easily accept different ideas from others, and then try to think about why others could hold this idea. It could facilitate the communication between people and increase the stability of society. Just like the discussion about online sharing bicycles, which is not only an argument between my cousin but also a hot topic in China, the administration always held the meeting between sharing bicycle user and non-user to discuss a better way to manage those sharing bicycle operation in Guangzhou. It not only eases the conflict between user and non-user, but also provides a better chance to understand each other.

Admittedly, some opposite opinions may not reasonable enough for us to accept, but our own opinion may have a similar problem we could not find out. According to opposite opinions, we may find out the problems of our own opinions or opposite opinions, which can greatly help us to develop a better idea or prospective for the future.

All in all, it seems to be safe to conclude that reading or watching news about opposite opinions may be more critical than those similar opinions.