Society benefits more from works of great artists than from political leaders. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Perhaps no issue could lead to such debate as to whether the works of artists can bring more society benefits than the counterparts of political leaders. As far as I am concern, the political leaders can have more contributions to benefit the community, even though the value of artists can never be underestimated.

Admittedly, the value of artists can bring a great development for the artworks in a nation, or some commercial value like creating music, making films or attracting tourists. However, all of those are the small part for the entire community, the society or the nation. Compared with artists, political leaders can bring more benefits to society in many other directions.

Most importantly, political leaders will exert the profound influence on the basic living of the citizens, such as reducing the house shortage, better medical services and free education for all children. And China may shed some light on it. The popularizing free education was put forward about 60 years ago and has been well carried out in several decades. Before these laws or regulations was addressed, according some survey, over 80% people in China could not read the book on their own, because they had never got to the school or had only studied for less than 3 years in the primary school. And the girls had less opportunities to get to the school. But now every child in China, no matter a girl or a boy and even in some poor remote areas, can receive the basic education for 9 years, which can ensure them to make a basic living in the modern society. And some other issues like reducing the house shortage or better medical services will be further addressed in the future, by the works from political leaders and not from the artists .

Additionally, the further development for a nation can be affected by the works of political leaders. The reforms of opening in China may be a case to this point. With the great reforms in opening the market to the world, the industries in China have leapt forward. It can inject new vitality into the brightness future in a country and then can enhance the ability to compete in the international stage. Finally, it could boost the economy and earn a well-known reputation for a country. It could be really hard for the artists to make such an achievement.

In closing, the public will benefit more from the successful works form political leaders rather than the counterparts of artists.