TPO - 16

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Some people like to travel alone while other people prefer to join a group with a tour guide. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that going on a trip is best when you go with a group and a tour guide. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, travelling with a group is safer. Some places in foreign countries are dangerous with high crime rates. Thus, moving with a well-informed person who has a lot of information about our destination would guarantee that we avoid bad and sketchy areas. In addition, every individual in the group could contribute something they know about the country or the region we are visiting. Therefore, the group as a whole would have more knowledge which would help to take the right decisions. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. I used to go on trips with my family when I was young. We travelled in a large group with a guide most of the time. I realized that travelling together with other people allowed us to be safer since some individuals could share their knowledge about the place or even sometimes the directions since this was before the widespread use of the GPS and smartphones. Other group members had unique skills. To illustrate, I remember when our bus once broke down in the middle of the road but some people in the group volunteered to fix it.

Secondly, travelling in a group is more affordable than travelling on your own. In other words, paying for transportation, hotel stay, food and other necessities separately could be far more expensive than getting a complete package from a company. This is mainly due to the fact that companies that organize these vacation offers are able to spread the cost over a large number of people and are also able to negotiate lower prices as they get the services in bulk.

To conclude, travelling by oneself could provide little extra freedom to wonder around. However, this does not outweigh the benefits of group travel such as being less expensive, safer, more informative and more fun since you meet new people on the trip.