Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Studying history could be important in certain fields of study but not others. Learning about the past is definitely significant in a political science class as people would be able to avoid reinstalling governing systems that demonstrated huge failures in history. On the other hand, delving into the history of discovering a medication or the evolution of a scientific method is not that beneficial. Consequently, I disagree with the opinion that history courses should be a requirement in all areas of study. I will explore more potential reasons for my view in the following essay.

First and foremost, focusing on historical events for science students would end up a waste of time, and this time could be used on subjects that matters in their careers. Knowing about who invented an algorithm or how the word itself originated is insignificant. Similarly, spending valuable time memorizing some guidelines that are no longer in use is preposterous. My own experience is a compelling example on that. While studying a clinical pharmacy course in college, we had to learn approaches to prescribing medications. These instructions get updated almost every year but the professor had to shed some light on the old version as a historical introduction. As a result, this made the lecture confusing for some students as they mixed the old guidelines with the most up-to-date ones. Hence, I believe that university courses should be centered around the relevant information only because otherwise, it could be distracting and waste of time for learners.

Secondly, most students join universities to get prepared for a career. Thus, helping students perfect the skills that they would need for the job market is more of a priority than studying history. Loading curriculum with useless uninteresting information could also be detrimental for students. For instance, I remember the topics that we had to study in molecular biology during my sophomore year. Most of the material was history about the development of the techniques. Furthermore, we did not practice any skills that could help us in the future. Although I was intrigued by molecular biology and I wanted a career in that realm, most jobs required hands-on experience with the techniques which I lacked. Had this course concentrated on teaching us the actual methods, I would have got the position that I always dreamt of.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that history should not be a requirement as some students would find it impractical and less useful to their future careers. In addition, classes should be invested on mastering abilities that would guarantee Competitive graduates.