TPO 17: Do you Agree/Disagree.

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With recent advances in technology, especially the introduction of social media, the importance of advertisement has reached a high degree. In this regard, some people believe that most ads present wrong facts about products, while others rely on advertisements a lot. As long as I know, the use of exaggeration in advertisements is a true story; and I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, advertisements are made to affect people and encourage them to buy a product. Making exaggerations in advertisements will have an undeniable impact on individuals. The reason for this influence is that people usually don't really care about the accuracy of the facts. Instead, they are attracted to diverse filming techniques which make an ad beautiful and enjoyable to watch. For example, a dairy company once produced an advertisement about a specific kind of milk. It stated that this milk was better than other milk products in terms of protein and calcium. The result was that people bought a lot of that product and believed the product's superior quality. However, after some weeks, a sample of that milk was tested; and the result showed no difference between that particular milk and others.

Second, companies today have to use such a strategy in order to compete with others. Unfortunately, the use of exaggeration is a widespread technique. Advertisements will lose their effect and are incapable of competing with other brands unless they implement some sort of overstating about their products. Food supplement ads are a good example of this. Nowadays there are hundreds of brands making supplements for athletes as well as ordinary people. The main feature of all of these companies is that they mention highly positive points about their products, which are nothing but lies. However, by avoiding these wrong statements, they will lose a great number of their customers.

Admittedly, some advertisements can be found which try to provide the most accurate information about products. The attitude behind these ads is that people will eventually find the truth about a product; and if the quality is not satisfying, they will stop consuming that product. However, in my opinion, these kinds of advertisements are in minority and are not able to survive.

To sum up, I am convinced that ads are not a reliable source of information about products. They exaggerate about a product in order to encourage the consumers to buy it and to stay in the market and be able to compete. In my perspective, accepting the existence of some frank advertisements does not change the actual trend in advertising a product.