TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of marketing, there has been an increasing in the use of advertising to introduce and show the products to customers. With this in minde, a controversy exists whether the advertisements bring about products appear better than their reality or not. Some people believe that advertisements do nothing but providing some real information about product for costumers, while others hold this view that most advertisements provide an unreality information abour produsts and casue products seem better that they really are. I, personnaly, agree that the advertisemnets result in an incorrect information about product and casue them seem better that reality and provide some reason to support my point of view, Two of which will be illustrated in the following paragraghs.

The first reason why I agrree that advertisement result in product seem better than reality is that the one on of the most important feature of advertising is marketing, attracting more costomers, therefore, this principal uses wide variety of methods to make produstc seem luxurious to customers. The more luxurious the product, the more increasing in thier sell. Such an example, last year my family and I were going to buy a new television for our home. Consequently, we watched a lot of advertisment and also read some useful cataloge in order to achieve some information about a proper television in terms of proce, quality to name but a few. Finally, all my family reached an agreement to buy a television which was seemed appropriate for us. after buying this televesion, we found that all the advertisment that we had watched were nothing but exagerating. They exagerated the products particularly this television. As a result, if the company had not advertised this television in that way, we would not have bought the television.

The second reason that should be mentioned in suppoting my view that advertisement exagerated products is that today's world is a competetive world in all fields and marketying is not an exceptions. Companies use advertise in an exagerated way to win this competition and advocate more bazzar to themselves. The more you be succefull in copmtetition, the better would be your futuer. I am now working on the strategies using by companiy to overcome any obstacles in terms of their rival company they use advertisement to reach their goal. One renowned company in my country which has a lot of income and sells a lot of its product and win this tough competiosn using this way of advertising, exagereting the products.

All in all, by taknig all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, it is concluded that most advertisements make products seem much better because not only does company want to attract more customer, but they are much more eager to win the competition from other company.