TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advertisement is the crucial part before launching a product and an important part of marketing a product. I totally agree with the topic, that marketing is used to make the product looks attractive. The main motive behind the advertisement is to make to product looks better than like it in reality, so that public feel affection for them and thinking about buying that product even if it is useless.

First of all, launching a product is just a starting point but how to make that product famous? The next step is advertisement and there is different kind of advertisement company take. The most common and effective marketing strategy is direct advertisement, like advertisement through television or newspaper or some website. In this particular advertisement, peoples see images or a video presentation of a product. The company presents the video that way, that it catches the human eye and people feel affection for them. For example, a car company or a phone company present their product with the different animation, from the side, from up, compare with others like they have the best features as none have. The truth is they hide some truth and terms and condition applied in the bottom of the advertisement page. Some days earlier one of my friends decides to buy a new phone and a particular phone in his mind, with a vibrant gold color and glass back. But when he got the phone, the color was that vibrant and it looks odd on that phone. So, that is how they deceit the customers.

Another strategy is viral marketing, in this marketing company spread rumors about some product and add some free product with it. So the customers go for the actual free product, even if the quality of the free product is poor. For example, a famous fast food company gave some discount on food, like if you buy two burgers you can get one special item free or get redeem coupons for 100 rupees or fifty rupees. The truth is I never get the free food. Whenever asking them, they told me the free food was unavailable and getting a 100 or 50 rupees coupon is never enough because of the price of every product cost over 150 rupees. And they advertise like mionese and cheese melted from the food, even though I never got that.

Another policy is stealth marketing, for example, some days ago I was looking for different car safety and a website gave a really intensive presentation on different safeties and try to impress the viewers to buy that particular car, as that car had the best safety features. But again those were really banal facilities and every car have those facilities. Without those safety features, cars cannot be launched. The main point is the presentation; they have a really attractive presentation like the virtual tour, plan view, side view to attract the public.

TO recapitulate, the take-home point is companies create an attractive advertisement to deceit influence the customers so that peoples entice by the presentation and buy that product.