TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s fast-changing life peoples are trying to escape their mundane lives for some personal enjoyment by spending their money for traveling or going to amusement parks or buying some new gadgets, which give them personal enjoyment and they can escape from their daily lives. Spending money on personal enjoyment, I think nothing wrong with that. In fact, it's their money they can spend on anything whatever they want to spend as long as that does not hurt anyone.

Spending money on unnecessary things, it is a personal choice and some unnecessary things might be necessary for someone. For example, peoples who live in hilly areas, they don't need air cooler, which is unnecessary for them but those peoples who live in hot and humid areas peoples sometimes save their money to buy an air cooler, so air cooler is necessities for them.

Another thing that peoples spend their money is buying technologies like new gadgets or new phone or laptop. But it is their personal choice again, for examples some peoples buy iPhone x whereas some peoples don’t spend their money on phones. They might save their money for traveling. For example, I don't like to spend that much money on phones or gadgets but I am saving my money for traveling, it's traveling which gives me personal amusement whereas some peoples get personal pleasure by spending a big chunk of their money on gadgets. Some peoples spending their money for their families by going to some Disney world with their child, it's the personal time they are buying and spending time with family is not unnecessary.

Peoples spend their money on cars or bikes and that totally depends on their social status and their personal choice. For example, peoples who travel a lot and want to travel in a more personal and comfortable way, they buy cars for their personal comfort.

At the end some peoples can argue that, in spite of spending money on some useless gadgets or on travelling peoples should spent their money on some social works or help the poor or spending their money on health insurance, but again they are not bound by any law to do so, they are paying taxes and it's governments duty to look after social incidents. If peoples spending their personal money on their personal amusement, until that does not hurt someone is entirely fine and no one has rights to tell someone what is necessary and what is not good for them.