In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

It has been long debated whether achievements of a new generation influenced by earlier work or the new achievements are independent of previous contributions. at a glance from our history and progression, we can say that any contribution in any field previous studies was important.

First of all, specifically, in the field of science, we can say that our modern results are directly dependent on previous research. If we assay the history of science, our progression happened in graduation. For example, Stephan Hawkins influenced by Einstein's works and Ernestine influenced by Newton's work. In the field of science, we carry the legacy of our ancestors. Without the past work, whether that was a success or failure, it contributes or gave us knowledge that we can pass forward.

Another point is that past discovery always influenced modern achievements. If our ancestors do not discover Wheel then there will be no car Thomas Savery does not discover steam engine there will be no modern day transportation. Also in the field of literature past works are mot significant and influential to modern writers. For example, modern-day mystery genre writer greatly influenced by Conan Doel and Agatha Christy, where drama writer influenced by Shakespeare. so, in every field past achievements left a significant influence.

On the other hand, very argument has an opposite side and some people argue that every work does not need to be influenced by past achievements. Picasso and Da Vinci created their art distinct from the rest and past works. Also, Mozart created his music without any earlier influence, Agatha Christy also one of the earlier iconoclastic woman detective novel writers. But I would counter that by, our society does not progress in a step by step manner where every discovery is significant and without the past experience, we may not contribute to any field.

At the epilogue of the topic, I would say that modern works are significantly influenced by past achievements, where on the other hand there are plenty of works which distinct from the rest and previous achievements.