TPO-5 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

we live in the most advanced and prosperous era of human history so far. our everyday lives have been so much easier thanks to technological developments that we have so many free times to spent on many things. personally, i believe that today's people are wasting so much of their precious times on something that may not be valuable for their lives. I feel this way for two reasons, which i will explain in the following essay.

First of all, nowadays people are spending most of their times on social media. Of course, technological advances, especially internet, has given us gigantic opportunities, but just like everything else it has one downside, which is it has power to attract and get people addict to it. it is safe to say that almost everyone from age of three to eighty has hooked to social media. even though it has an effect of making people happy, it is sucking our times that we should have spent on other important things. For example, i'm one of these addicted people to social media. When i was in middle school, the internet was not available and at that time i had strong concentration and i didn't mind what others were doing. but after internet became available to my country, it attracted me like black hole. Eventually now as a adult person, my concentration is even worse than my teenage years. I have constant urge to check my social media account and see what my friends or acquaintances are doing even though i know that checking them and seeing them will give me nothing, but take my time.

Secondly, modern people no longer value their families. In previous generations, one of the most important aspects of one's live was family that in some cases, people did everything for their families. but nowadays, because of so many distractions and technological influences, people, especially young people, don't want to be married and have families. In short, personal growth and personal enjoyments have taken us all and blinded us for realizing our most important aspect, family. For instance, my grandfather was really hard working man that he did two jobs in order to feed his family and he always talked about family. even one time he said that even though he didn't like his jobs, he tolerated them because he had loving family that was waiting for him at home. but compared to him, nowadays young people are more oriented in goal and career. As a result, number of families, at least in my country, has been lowest in the history. I'm not saying pursuing career and goal are bad, but in doing so people are forgetting their most precious things.

In conclusion, i strongly believe that in this era people are mostly spending their times on unimportant and selfish things while forgetting their valuable things. this is because they waste most of their times on internet and they don't realize the value of family.