tpo 18 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, our ancestors have made many efforts to socialize with other people in their communities given that we humans are social beings. Considering this tendency, schools are the second important community in which students participate and start socializing more widely with their classmates, friends as well as teachers outside of their family. One of the heated debates in this realm is that whether students are more affected by their teachers or their friends. Although there might be some counterexamples about this claim, I would argue that friends have profound impacts on each other compared to their teachers or even their parents. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that children have a relatively close relationship with their friends rather than their teachers. In fact, they spend much time with their peers playing, studying and talking. They often may ask about their friends' ideas or feelings towards a specific issue with neither external forces nor limitation. Therefore, one can conclude that spending much time with friends will lead to their close friendship which is unquestionably influential on children as a trustable source of information. Consider my experience as an example which can shed some light on this issue. Consider my experience as an example which can shed some light on this issue. A few years ago, a student of mine was reluctant to complete his assignments before the expected time, yet I employed many methods to encourage him to practice more. Finally, his friend was the person who promoted him to devote more time and energy to his lessons since they trusted each other more than me as their mathematics teacher.

The second rationale behind my idea is rooted in the fact that there is not too much difference between peers in terms of age. In other words, they are mostly at the same age, and they can understand each other much better than their teachers who are at least ten years older than them. Children ranging from young child to adolescence would experience challenging and significant concerns according to their age, however; they may not be able to share these concerns with their parents or teachers because they would think these issues are not understandable for them. Thus, if we put ourselves in children’s shoes, we certainly would prefer someone who sympathizes with us rather than giving a piece of advice.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas that were presented above I believe that children are influenced mainly by their friends in comparison with their teachers since they are at the same age, and can trust them more. Let us hope more and more parents try to monitor their children’s friendship due to its undeniable important effect.