Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate whether it is more enjoyable to work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work for five days a week for shorter hours. In my humble opinion, I chose the former option. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, good work schedule is important part of our lives. It is vital due to workers can have normal lifestyle after working hours like having leisure and relaxation time for themselves and can do other things with their day off. Working in a three days week schedule has positive rewards for employees because they have more time for themselves rather than working five days straight at work. For instance, I am a dialysis nurse in a tertiary hospital in Manila, my working schedule is 10 hours straight three days a week. I can do many things in my day off like studying and reviewing for my toefl exam, which I cannot possibly do if my working schedule is 5 days a week because my time is more hectic and I would be tired when I got home. In addition, I can spend my time going to the gym and bonding with my friends on my rest day. It would benefit my physical health and psychological status. As a result, I would not feel easily burned out in my work because I can recharge my self with activities I like. I believe it is more pleasurable to have shorter work days because employees can relax and unwind and release pressure from work environment.

Secondly, in today's modern era, work environment are busier and hectic, so employees endure physical fatigue and emotional distress. Employees also experience having no time for their family because of busy career. Studies shows that people who undergone extreme stress and without the emotional support form their family can have negative impact on their working performance such as being unreliable and unproductive at work. Such problem can be solved by having shorter schedule at work because they can spend extra time with their family. Spending additional time with family are enjoyable and stress free for employees and they share stories and hardships to their brothers or sisters and it can help to declutter their mind and though process away from problems.

To summarize, I believe it is more beneficial for employees to have shorter days in work. This is because employees can have extra time for themselves, family and friends and it help them relax and be happy with their lives.