TPO 18- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The influence of people on each other is apparent in everyday life. Students at schools are no exception from this rule. They interact with their peers on a day-to-day basis. Moreover, their teachers could impact their beliefs and convictions about various issues. In my opinion, I disagree with the idea that mentors are more influential on learners than their friends. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the generational gap limits the effect of teachers' interests and views on their students. Students are much younger than their tutors and this age discrepancy is a big barrier. For instance, young generations develop their own language, idioms and terms which older generations sometimes do not even understand. In addition, hobbies are different from one era to the other. Video games about war replaced hunting.

Secondly, society values change with time due to rigorous studies that have been conducted in many fields. What we believed to be the right thing in the past is somehow not exactly the way to go today. For example, most communities were convinced not long ago that mild physical or psychological punishment for students is a valuable method in education. Teachers in developing countries implemented a number of hits on the students' hands as a form of discipline for any mistakes made. In contrast, in developed nations non-corporal techniques were executed, such as requiring children to keep writing for a long time until exhaustion. Nowadays, all these ideas about punishment were proven to be ineffective. Although school staff including teachers were okay with these ways of tutoring, students did not have the same point of view and they were as a whole of different opinion than their teachers.

To conclude, I oppose the statement that teachers have a larger influence on their students than friends. This is mainly due to the fact that students belong to another generation than their teachers and they have their own hobbies, language and interests.