TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays the social media has become widespread. The media which covers news include television, radio, newspapers, and internet. Some people believe that in order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news sources. I completely agree with this idea for the following reasons.

First of all, the journalists which work in broadcasting firms and prepare data for the news will be in fan of the ideology of the firm. In fact each news broadcast does have a special view and policy. As a result, inadvertently or not, the journalist's report of an incident may be biased. Her report may not cover all the facts about an issue which is also trying not to change the real topic. She may ignore some required information about the incident by just overlooking some critical parts. As a result, getting information from a specified source of news may cause losing the real event for the readers.

Secondly, even if the journalists are unbiased, they may not be able to cover all the news around the country or around the world depending on their field of responsibility. Consequently, if a reader is used to check a particular source of media, she may lose some information about her surroundings cause the news on that specific media may not cover all important news. In my opinion, it is somehow natural. Besides, I believe that the people would better get information from different news sources in the abstract world since it may enhance the chance of getting all data. For example, you may read a newspaper in the morning that it does not include an incident which has happened at 4.00 am. However if you check the news online on their websites, the chance of losing that news will be reduced since online broadcasts usually cover all of the events in a very short time after taking place.

To conclude, a person must get information from many different news sources in order to be well-informed as substantiated by my reasons above.