TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Technological advances enable the fast spread of news, often in real-time, resulting in the dissemination of inaccurate and false information. In light of this, this essay will explain two reasons of why I agree with the statement that people should get information from different news resources in order to be well-informed.

First, due to technology development, information reaches people around the whole globe at an incredibly fast speed. Information is capable of cross borders and spread easily, and mass media does everything to provide first-hand news, and sometimes it happens in an inaccurately way. Furthermore, people should beware and search information based on trustful and updated websites. My own experience demonstrates that this is true. Last week, when I was going to work, I received a text from a friend of my mine with a picture from an unknown news website saying that the subway was not operating normally. I decided to take the bus and, while I was on my way to work, he sent me another text saying that the resource he sent me before was not updated and the subway was already working. I ended arriving late at work and this would not happen if I had checked the information in a different resource.

Secondly, the big amount of resources leads people to take advantage of the anonymity to spread false information, commonly known as fake news. This harmful practice is increasing and so its damages, so search information from different news sources is fundamental to avoid this misleading news. The most recent and known event related to it was the false information spread by Donald Trump about Hillary Clinton’s campaign to presidency. By the time, apparently inoffensive news about Clinton started to be spread through the internet and false information started to being added to it. As result ended up affecting Hillary's campaign directly, benefiting the current president of the United States, Donald Trump.

In conclusion, these are few of the many reasons why I think people should be concerned to get information from different news resources. Inaccurate and false information has a big power of influence, and in a world with a lot of information like we currently live, it’s our duty to beware of it.