TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this rapidly developing society, the lack of information causes a problem for people. Even though some people agree with that the many different sources provide a person with much information, however, others disagree. From my point of view, the different news resources will not make a person well-informed for the following aspects.

Above all, there are many resources that include fake pieces of information. Those may cause a problem for the entire population by spreading fake news. For example, the information about the end of the world spread through my country in 2012. Many trust this and sell all their possessions, then spend them in trivial things before they die. Because of this fake information, the economic abyss took place in my country which was hard to recover.

Furthermore, many reliable sources developed which include a broad range of information such as BBC. I think people do not have to waste their time reading variable resources to get trusty news. In the past, people spend less time and less confused about the information than the past, because they only get news from the newspaper.

Finally, the many different resources break the trust of people. When people find out the information is fake, they do not trust the information on that page or site which makes the page unpopular. For example, when I saw the video or a post on the internet that are scientifically false, I tend to ignore it and block the site.

All in all, the cons of the many sites include information outweigh the pros. Even though the different resources give news from diverse angles, I think this is not that necessary because everyone must have an own perspective about the information.