TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Successful people are always appreciated by others. It’s worth knowing what is the main characteristics of these people. One of these is that successful people try new things and take risks rather than doing what they know how to do well. While some disagree with this statement, I strongly support it for some reasons.

First, nowadays technology is changing fast, new skills and new products are required. Technologies and science are developing, so skills which job market needs will change. So, rapidly changing the way things get done. It is worthful to be in front of this changing and try to learn and do a new thing. For instance, my father didn’t know how to use a computer when it entered Iran and when many offices replaced it with traditional handwritten letters. As a result, his position changed in his office and he retired one year sooner. If he learned using a computer, maybe he would get a higher position and retired with a higher salary. Besides, the innovation of products has a high fast. Investing in new products has risks, but it is essential for remaining in markets. For instance, sometimes Nokia was one of the biggest company in the mobile market. I remember, when I wanted to buy a mobile, everyone suggested me to buy the Nokia brand. But, this company bankrupted because it couldn’t compete with other companies which developed new products. Therefore, being update and try to do a new thing is an important attribute for being successful.

Second, doing new thing flourish our talents. There is no opportunity for people who do the same thing all the time and don’t take a risk, to improve and develop their abilities. But others who choose to do new work or invent a new thing, have to get new information and knowledge. They will face many problems. They should learn how to solve them and As a result, they become more creative. For instance, Mark Zuckerburg who is a founder of Facebook. He should improve his abilities in writing codes for his new software. Furthermore, he faced some problems such as many crises. But, he stood and finally, he succeeded.

To sum up, I believe that one of the main characteristics of successful people is doing a new thing and take a risk. It causes adaptation to advance technologies and flourishing talents.