TPO 21 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement For success in a future job the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Throughout the years, there was a general concern about which set of skills are more crucial for being successful in a job. Most people prefer learning the ability to communicate well with others but some of them are reluctant. They are most proud of their independence and their self-sufficiency, and they lack certain properties for their future works. I disagree with these people and I think that having communication skills are more useful for most kinds of jobs than only having the skills to do that job, and I have several reasons for that. I will elaborate on these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, in almost every job, collaboration is necessary for success. Nowadays, jobs are more group-oriented and projects need several different skills in different areas and therefore, they cannot be done individually. Hence, working together requires a set of communication skills that each person should have. I have to admit that my opinion is profoundly influenced by my personal experience. When I was a student at the university, I had Database Design course. This course had two individual assignments and three group projects. I was the kind of man that does everything on his own and does not rely on others, and mostly because of that, I did not care much about relating to others so I chose to be alone in my group projects. As expected, after the semester, I had an A+ for all of my individual assignments and I got B- for my group projects. Thus, I think this skill is a necessity for humans to be successful in their future works.

Another reason which is worth being discussed is that with relating and understanding each other in a group which has a single goal, people can achieve greater success. People have different characteristics with different preferences and different sets of skills, and in order to avoid any contentions and learn from each other, understanding them to a degree is critical. A group of Master's students in my university conducted research regarding this idea. They designed a simple group assignment in which collaboration was necessary. They chose thirty students from various majors and categorized them into ten groups. The set of people's skills in each of these groups were almost equal. Then they gave each group a goal for their assignment and they set off to complete that. Finally, after a specific time period, they took the results of each group. They found out that groups in which people had little familiarity with each other achieved better results.

In light of the reasons mentioned above, I severely believe that communication is a key feature for anyone, and people with a different set of skills need to work and collaborate with each other, and knowing others is beneficial for getting better results.