TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers considered the most influencers on students’ lives; thus, it is very crucial for teachers to be careful in their topic discussion with their students. From my point of view, I think teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom, so I firmly agree with the statement. There are many reasons for me to hold this opinion, two of them that are as follows:

To begin with, teachers' social or political perspectives can cause serious problems to student's personal lives. Students trust and learn from their teachers and they may believe the teachers' views and become adamant about the opinion that they learn from teachers. However, this is not a good thing if students' family have opposite social or political views. My friend's brother is a compelling example of this. His history teacher is a favorable side of the liberal political party and he expressed his opinion in front of his students in the classroom. On the other hand, my friend's family supports a conservative party, which was contrary to the teacher's views. Later on, my friend's brother started a conflict with his parent and siblings supporting the liberal party because he was influenced by his teacher's perspective. This caused a big problem in my friend's house, which is obviously triggered by the teacher. For this reason, I think teachers should avoid stating their political opinion in school.

Another reason teachers should not mention their political or social opinions is to not have a conflict between teachers and students in the classroom, which could negatively affect the students' academic lives. Thus, it is important to keep the class efficient for studying not for arguments. For instance, my friend, during our college study, had an argument with a professor about a religious topic. Eventually, this argument led to a serious conflict that became a personal issue to both. Since the professor had more power at college and specifically his course, my friend failed his course because of that argument. Therefore, I strongly believe teachers must not discuss social or political subjects in the class because it could lead to serious problem affect the students' future.